Have you ever said, "If I only have gear X, I would be able to play Y!"

I’ve been playing for 25 years and have only had 2 guitars. I still have my 2nd one right now which is a cheap Charvette that I think I payed $200 for. Probably around 2013 or so, I went to a guitar center and just for the heck of it, started picking up guitars entertaining the idea of buying one. I came across the Jackson RR1 “reasonably” priced at $1700 used. I had never had an experience like that one when I touched that guitar.
I played so well on it, my wife turned her head and said, “hey you’re not ‘stuttering’ like you usually do”. :cry:

so naturally I chalked it up to the architecture of the guitar, but then I saw a video on the music is win youtube channel, something about 10 excuses poor guitarists say, or something like that. And sure enough, one of them was “I need a better guitar in order to play well”. I blew it off at first thinking, “Ha! well obviously you’ve never played a RR1 before!”, but I started to think about it for a while. If Gary Holt came over to my house and picked up my cheap guitar, I wonder if there is any Exodus material he couldn’t play on my guitar?? maybe not…probably not…

But then I thought back to my experience at GC. Why was I able to play that guitar so well? Maybe it was the guitar and Music is Win is wrong? or maybe I was just having a really good day (I do have those even on my cheap guitar sometimes). I still can’t stop thinking about and am currently saving for it. Telling myself that I will be able to play more fluently once I have it.

I wonder if I am setting myself up for a disappointment. Anyone else have a similar experience, or on the other side of things, actually have improved since the purchase of gear X?

3 Likes

I had some thoughts that was like yours.