Hello, and a Question before I plunge in

Hey all, first time poster. I’d say I’m a relative beginner. I can comfortably play the main open chords, keep timing with songs etc. I can play barre chords but this is pretty new to me. I know only a few scales (major, major pentatonic) and can finger pick in a fairly basic fashion. My picking isn’t great, keep hitting wrong strings and sync between hands isn’t too good so I’d like to improve in this area, but I can play some basic lead melodies, although not very fast. I’m a leftie and have been playing only a few months.

Is the picking primer and other video series here good for someone of my beginner-ish level, or should I go get better then come back here when I am more competent? I couldn’t find any info on what level of ability these video series are aimed for.

Thanks all!

I think most of the people who post here discovered CTC after many years of playing experience, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you won’t find anything of value.

On the one hand, I do think someone who has a comfort level with playing intermediate “lead guitar” playing will be able to pull more out of what’s here, but at the same time, I’m sure there’s also stuff here that could help steer a beginner down a healthy path of discovery. I and several other experienced players have made comments to the effect “I wish I had known this stuff when I was starting out”. But I don’t think there’s a ton of feedback available yet on how much benefit actual beginners have been able to get from the material. If you do take the plunge, I’m sure @Troy and company would like to hear from you on the forum about what’s working for you, what isn’t, and if there’s anything they can do to improve it.