Hello fellow CtCer's

Hello everyone,

I’m Wayne from Ireland. I have been playing guitar for almost 30 years, christ that’s a long time. I played in a few bands in my late teens and early twenties. And for a few years work and travel took over and I didn’t play at all.

Raised on a steady diet of AC/DC, Thin Lizzy, and Rory Gallagher my early guitar years were very rock orientated. I started listening to Megadeth, Metallica, Iron Maiden and of course Satch, Vai, YJM, and the great SRV. Despite hours in the old woodshed I never reached the technical goals I set for myself. I had a few lessons over the years but I am mostly self taught. I have a reasonably knowledge of music theory and can happily play most scales and modes.

My biggest issue is alternate picking! I constantly get trapped when moving from one string to another with an upstroke. I now realise that DWPS is probably the answer to my problem. So far I have really enjoyed the lessons, worked through the Pick Slanting Primer and now starting on Volcano.

Technically I want to get my alternate picking up to the 160 - 180 bpm range, 16th notes. I reckon at that level I should be able to tackle most of the songs I want to play as well as the awesome Moto Perpetuo (Paganini). Musically I would love to lash out a gut wrenching rendition of Still got the blues (Gary Moore). I will keep you posted on my progress.

Take care all and the best of luck on your CtC journey.

Wayne

4 Likes

Welcome
That fast lick in Still got the Blues simply magical.

1 Like

Welcome @wayne74, looks like you are in the right place :smiley:

I think it’s important to emphasize that “picking technique” is really a collection of mechanical problems that may not have a unique solution. I personally have licks that I can play easily at the speeds you mention, others that I struggle to alternate pick at 130bpm or so.