Hello from Belgium!

Hey, first of all, i´m very stoked to be here.
I move to play music, it has been the only persistent thing in my life so far. I only wish i had done thing different, but that´s why i´m here.

Where are you in your guitar journey?
-I have been playing by ear since i was 13 years old( 34 now). I started out with playing punk music since it was mostley barred chords and eventually things progressed to a bit more challenging stuff wich was metal and hard rock for me. Nowadays i still just learn by tablature and my main goal is to cover Eddie Van Halen solos. I´ve done a couple succesful ones like Hot For Teacher, Beat it and I´m the one…but the thing is, once i learned these solos i could play them, but i cannot incorperate any elements from those into my own playing. Just the solo and that’s it.
Here´s a link to one of my solos :

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

• up to this point i´m completely self taught, never had lessons except the famous Paul Gilbert and Marty Friedman instructional Dvd´s. Other than that, tablature and alot of patience have been my best teachers.

Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff?
-yes, I have, but most of the time when things started to get really difficult for me speedwise, i always thought i lacked talent. Very fast alternate picking has been the thing i always wanted to learn, but i never got it up to a point where i was satisfied with it. I even have the feeling that, tje more i focus on what i actually do, the worse it gets. Only recently i found out about pickslanting and the benefits of it.

Can you comfortably play a scale? At roughly what speed?
-Yes i can, but i´m limited to the typical major/minor and pentatonic scales. I never made work of it to really drill them to a point where i could use them effectively… when i improvise I just rely on the pentatonic scale and octaves. As you all know, it becomes very boring, very fast.