Hello from California! My guitar journey thus far

Hi everyone! My name is Francisco and I’ve been playing guitar for almost 10 years now. I have my B.A. in Music from CSU East Bay and I’m currently a guitar teacher in the SF Bay Area. I’ve been watching CTC since it came out on Youtube in 2014 and it’s been a huge game changer for my guitar playing. I can’t wait to get involved on the forum and meet other people who are just as into this picking thing as I am!

Here’s my guitar journey thus far. I started playing guitar when I was 16 after watching the scene in Back To The Future where Marty plays “Johnny B. Goode”. I remember saying to my friend “I wanna do that”!
I immediately went down the guitar rabbit hole and got into everything from 50’s Rockabilly to Blues, Metal and everything else in between. I got into the shredders like Satriani, Vai, Malmsteen, and EVH of course.

A year after I graduated high school, I started studying music in community college. The guy that ran most of the program was an MI graduate from LA, so I got this weird but cool approach to learning music. I got exposed to classical music, learned to read music, and gained a solid understanding of music theory while at the same time playing in bands that performed contemporary Pop, Rock, Soul, Funk, and R&B songs. From Bach to Motown to Stravinsky to The Beatles and Stevie Wonder. Again it was weird, but fun! I got a solid foundation in being a musician.