Hello from Finland!

Hi everyone,

First of all, huge thanks to Troy and the team for all you do!

I’ve been lurking on the forums for a while now and have even posted a few times but I thought I should actually introduce myself.

So, my name is David and I’m from Finland but I’m actually British as well since my dad is originally from London. I started playing guitar about 11 years ago and was pretty much just into 80’s metal and hard rock back then but nowadays I listen to a variety of genres but I have to admit that most of it still has guitar somewhere. :wink:

From what I’ve gathered lurking around the forums and watching the free material that has come out, I have a DWPS system that is similar, if not the same as Yngwie’s that I must have just intuitively figured out. I’ve tried UWPS and 2WPS after finding out about them here but those just seem to feel very uncomfortable to me after playing with a DWPS for this many years and I’m probably doing them wrong anyway. 2WPS is something I’d like to get down eventually though…

I have signed up for the free 7 day trial which is ongoing at the moment and checked out the new crosspicking (Which I had never heard about before CtC) video but I found myself struggling until I thought to just try and alternate pick a forward roll as notated and let my right hand figure it out and I think I’ve made some quick progress since then unless I’m just string hopping which could be possible I guess.

I’ll post some clips of my DWPS playing and crosspicking soon so I can get some idea whether it’s all correctly done.

Anyway, that was a long ramble. :sweat_smile: I’m glad to be here and I hope I can get some input on my playing even though I don’t think I can pay for a subscription for the foreseeable future since I’m still a student with a limited amount of money to spend.

Thanks! :love_you_gesture:

PS. Here is a link to my YouTube channel if anyone wants to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/user/finndave/videos