Hello from France

First off all, let me say that discovering Cracking the Code has been a major breakthrough in my guitar learning process. I’m 43 and have been playing and practicing seriously for about 20 years now. By “seriously” I mean that I’ve been aiming at developing my technical abilities on the instrument as well as improving my music theory knowledge. I don’t mean that it’s all I’ve been doing, as I’m not a professional musician.

By now I have a fairly good command of my instrument but one thing I’ve kept struggling with and that I’m still not satisfied with is speed. It seems that no matter how hard I train, I cannot go over a certain speed without becoming sloppy (I don’t know why a lot of guitarist want to play fast by the way, I have a friend who is perfectly happy with the same old trusty blues licks, who couldn’t care less about sweeping or the modes of the melodic minor scale. Sometimes I envy him).

Anyway, after just a couple of weeks with CTC, I’ve seen some considerable improvement. Amazing. I’ve gone through the Pickslanting Primer downward pickslanting section and I truly found it amazing. I don’t know if my speed has increased, but my accuracy and my control definitely have! I’m still very much in awe of the speed at which Troy goes through the licks and I doubt I’ll ever reach that level, but at least now I know how to work.

It is such a revolution that I wonder if I should go on with the upward pickslanting section or if I should dig in deeper with the Volcano and Cascade seminars, what do you guys think?