Hello from india

hii everyone, i started playing acoustic guitar at the age of 13 or 14 year 2001, here in india rock music is not popular, bands like michael jackson ,bonny m etc were hits, only a rare minority of people listened to rock, at that time even internet was not available here , eagles, clapton, bon jovi ,bryan adams, ozzy osbourne ,metallica, iron maiden etc fuelled my passion to learn guitar, i joined a local music school but got bored after 2 weeks and quit, then from then on it was all self learning from tabs, power tabs, no other instruction were available here…self learning was mostly a trial and error style learning , for 5 years i worked moderately hard, then for another 6 to 7 years didnt practise much, now im again commited to guitar, now i have access to internet and quality lessons unlike before when i started, troy gradys insights are revolutionary, thanku for ur hard work…!! i tried my hand at speed picking using stetinas speed picking mechanics book bu failed and lose heart, also the paul gilbert lick i couldnt get past a certain speed because of string hopping (thnx to ur lessons that now i realise whats the problem)…

4 Likes

Welcome aboard! I think we all have had a similar journey. A lot of us started with Troy Stetina books and we all struggle with the Paul Gilbert lick.

I first saw the Paul Gilbert video sometime around 1991-1992 but I couldnt really play the lick until this year lol.

2 Likes

Hey Vivek,

I don’t know how old you are, but I remember sitting with Pyramid (Palika Bazar) rip off VHS of Chris Impelliterri and a piece of intricate firewood masquerading as a guitar. That was 25 years ago, no wonder nothing happened back then between me and guitars. The Malmsteen vid only made It worse, like what’s an electrical guitar!? And why are all these grown men wearing tights!

Thank god for the internet. I think I’ve seen it all evolve from then to now.

Welcome to the forum, this place is pure gold.

Sid.

2 Likes