Hello from Italy

Hi everyone, I’m a massive Vai fan (and shred guitar in general), and I’ve been playing for almost 12 years. I’m 100% self-taught and only a couple of years ago my technique developed enough to let me at least try to play some technical songs (including some of Steve’s).

I’m glad to have found a community of guitar nerds, where the advice goes way beyond the typical: “Practice slowly with a metronome until you get fast.” Yeah, right…

I always struggled enormously with guitar, it’s not something that comes naturally for me at all, but I’m obsessive and masochistic enough that I got some results in the end, through endless practice and some intuition.

My biggest intuition was probably probably discovering “chunking” on my own, even though I called it “bursts”. That helped with l/r hand sync. After a first few attempts at developing speed with the metronome, I quickly realized how futile it was, because it’s like walking fast to learn how to run, they’re two very different things. So I just practiced in bursts, playing as fast as possible, starting from 3 notes and adding a note to the lick when I felt comfortable doing so. 95% of whatever technique I have developed over the years came out of this.

But the problem is that I can’t play consistently from one day to another, and this is driving me crazy. For the longest time I wasn’t sure about what I was doing with my hands, and when last year I started analyzing my technique more closely I started finding some of the mistakes I was making.