Hello from MSU guitar dept

Hi and thanks for accepting my membership. I teach guitar at Mississippi State University in Starkville, MS. I have enjoyed and benefited from Troy Grady’s videos on youtube so I thought I’d give membership a try. Always looking for new material to share with students and improve my own skills. My background is rock and classical guitar.

5 Likes

Not a single welcome for this guy? Jeez.

Welcome to the forum! What are some of your favorite songs to play right now? Any techniques you’re working on?

2 Likes

Ah thanks for catching @guitarenthusiast!

Sorry we missed this post at first @LoneRanger — welcome to the forum :tada:

We have a good number of teachers here, and have a channel #teachers-lounge for discussion of any topics around learning / pedagogy. Look forward to hearing more about your experience learning & teaching (picking technique or otherwise!)

1 Like

Thanks. I have done alot of 70s classic rock over the years. Zepp. Sabbath. Queen, Pink Floyd, Rush, Kansas, Uriah Heep etc. Have played around with Eruption. (learned about 1/2…got distracted by something else :blush:) Play most of Satrianis’ Always with you…Messing with Cliffs of Dover…
Last semester we started an Electric Improv/Prog/Metal ensemble. Some of the students write their own music and I spend alot of time learning those parts for performance. We did some Scale The Summit. Grateful Dead. Metal arrangement of a CPE Bach cello concerto (I played 5 string bass). Currently working on a solo version of JS Bach Violin Sonata BWV 1001 Presto for high gain guitar. I have a Schecter Hellraiser with sustainiac, PRS CU 24, PRS DC3 and hopefully arriving tomorrow—ESP (E-II) LTD Horizon III FR. :smile: Also have been tabbing Petruccis Series from Guitar world for myself and students. Always working to improve speed and accuracy. I didn’t grow up around sweeps so much so that is an area I work on.
Thanks for asking.

3 Likes