Hello from North London

Short version (TL;DR):

Hi everyone! Glad to be here!

I’m Alex, from the very edge of North London, in Hertfordshire, I’m 32, and I’ve been playing since I was about 10, but didn’t really get seriously into trying to push my technique and improve as a guitarist until I was about 20. In general, my progress has been long and slow, without any major breakthroughs. But I’ve been really inspired since coming across Troy’s videos on YouTube a couple of weeks ago, and have already experienced a notable improvement having used what I’ve learned to reassess my technique. Signed up for a Masters In Mechanics subscription last night, and I’m really excited to continue practising, and with any luck, learning and improving!

Thanks so much to Troy and the team, and all the guitarists who’ve spared their time and insights in the interviews. This is the kind of insight I’ve been wishing for for many years.

A couple of questions:

When playing 16th note triplets at a given bpm, do you play 3 notes per beat, or 6 notes per beat?

My hands/fingers are a little on the smaller side I think, and I find playing my Ibanez RG 550, which has a fairly thin neck and low action, far easier and more comfortable than trying to play fast on say, my Stratocaster or Telecaster. Does anyone else identify with this?

Does MIM cover anything to do with left hand technique and mechanics? I often wonder about where my thumb ought to be, and whether I’m over-flexing or extending my wrist.

Long version (or, how I’ve made massive leaps in a short space of time):