Hello from Ottawa, Canada

Hello, I am a guitarist from Ottawa, Canada. My name is Mike Hansen.
I have been playing guitar since 1984 and lurking around this site for a little while, decided to finally post after realizing I wanted to participate in the dialog.
I have been trying to come to grips with the fact that after a few years of trying DWPS based on the initial view of the Yngwie Volcano videos from a few years back that I bought on gum road, that I am actually an UWPS. It took my a while to come to grips with this because Yngwie is such a favourite of mine, but I am starting to accept the facts and work with it, because it is so much easier to play this way.
Not directly related, but the David Grier video was humbling. What a monster player. I know, wrong thread…:wink:

3 Likes

Welcome to the fray.

I’m from the Toronto area, but I was in Ottawa earlier this year while the Tulip Festival was on.

3 Likes

Tulip festival is very nice, unless it rains they are very fragile. My wife and daughters really love it.

Don’t get me wrong, I would have preferred the chewing tobacco, lifting heavy things, and shaving with a bowie knife festival, but the timing just didn’t work out. :rofl:

Seriously though, it was my first time spending more than a few days in Ottawa outside of winter, and we lucked out with a few really good weather days. Funny part was we were playing a lot of the tourist-y stuff by ear, and discovered Hog’s Back Falls by accident while we were trying to find Dow’s Lake. :smiley: Didn’t find the time to hit any cool guitar stores though. Any hidden guitar-nerd gems to recommend for my next visit?

I actually like the tulip festival :wink: I would be the first to hold the Bowie by the sharp edge inadvertently setting my guitar playing back even further …