Hello from Portland, OR

Hello Everyone. My name is Kyle. I’m an IT Systems Admin and an avid guitar player. Born and raised in Washington State but live in Portland, OR now. I’m 35 years old and started playing guitar when I was in 5th grade. I think the first song we learned in class was a strumming pattern to go along with “Achy Breaky Heart”. It was awful but still fun! From that point forward I knew I loved playing music. I played cello in my Elementary school’s orchestra for 1 year. Once I reached middle school, I played Alto saxophone in concert band for 3 years. I also played guitar in the jazz band which I didn’t really have any idea what I was doing. Once I got to high school, I quit playing saxophone and playing in band (which I regret to this day). I did however do guitar lab my Freshman year in high school. I’ve taken lessons over the years but am mainly self taught. I’m a pretty good rhythm player but my lead technique is horrible and am super uncomfortable playing any scale runs or anything on the higher fretted areas of the guitar. I continued playing guitar in college but most of it consisted of lazingly learning portions of songs from tabs online. I’d get to a more difficult part and give up. I even had a stint in college where I played live gigs with a scream-o band. The music we played wasn’t really my cup of tea but it was fun while it lasted. I knew the music I really wanted to play was rock and metal. Although I do love strumming and playing some laid back acoustic songs.

Once I graduated college I kind of gave up on playing but had moments where I wanted to improve but would eventually lose my attention. Plus living in the small town after college, I never really got much attention or traffic for local musicians.