Hello from Wales, UK

G here from just outside of Sunny Swansea. Been playing for nearly 15 years (but had guitars for a long time - stopped playing as much a few but now Im now just turned 40 (oh the shame) I really want to crack the alt picking thing which has avoided me all this time. I doubt anyone will read this but for the hell of it…

Where are you in your guitar journey?

• How many years have you been playing - 15 - 25 (depends which way you look at it!)
  • What musical genres are you interested in? - Metal but Im playing in a function and covers band so I want to bring some shred fury to the solos I do get
  • Particular things you’re excited to learn / talk about here? - I really want to learn the style of alt picking, cross picking and get some chops. I know speed isnt everything but Id love to get some clean licks!

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

• Self-taught? Regular lessons with a teacher? Both? - Lessons and online/books
  • Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff? - about 25 years…
  • What Cracking the Code material have you watched? - The Pick Slant Primer
  • Can you comfortably play a scale? At roughly what speed? I can do the traditional major scale and 3NPS at about 150 8th Notes but not pushed to see how fast I can do
  • Any particular things you find yourself stuck on? - Alt picking… :frowning:
4 Likes

Hello and welcome from rainy Manchester.

1 Like

Welcome aboard. I’m Canadian, but one of my grandparents was born and raised in Cardiff.

1 Like

Welcome, thanks for joining :slight_smile: Lots of good stuff here, please make yourself at home, try a search for any topics of interest, and let us know if we can help with anything!

Hi man,