Hello, my story and health advice

Hi everyone, This is Steve from Costa Rica. I started playing guitar almost 20 years ago (mostly self-taught) and have always been in love with instrumental rock.

In my 20 year journey, I hit a wall because of my technical limitations, mainly because of two reasons (in my opinion): first, it is so hard teaching yourself some technique and the learning material available is certainly vague. Second, I am left handed who used to play in a right-handed position because someone told me that a proper position would not make a difference and that made sense to me. Unfortunately, I ended up putting too much effort in my right hand (for fast picking) using the elbow motion which resulted in lots of pain (my fault for pushing too hard).

That situation was frustrating and the pain in my hand scared me and decided to stay away from playing guitar and focus in my day job… until this year, when I finally decided to get back to what I love but as a fresh start, so I gave myself a left handed guitar and started practicing some chords and I believe I am ready to start with some solo playing. Even though I’ve been playing as a lefty for a few months, I feel very relaxed and comfortable with my instrument, such a feeling I never had when playing as right handed.

Finally, I would like to encourage everyone to be careful with any tension in your hands and watch your playing posture, warm up, procure playing relaxed and listen to your body when it tells you that it’s time for a break. I just wanted to share my experience because I recently watched the elbow movement explanation (very useful, by the way) in which Troy mentions that Steve Morse is feeling pain in his hands, and that caught my attention because Mr. Morse is also a lefty-playing-right-handed guitarist who relies heavily on elbow movement too.

Anyway, I am happy to become part of this learning community and wish you all very happy picking!

2 Likes

Welcome Steve :slight_smile: