Hello new member here, have pretty bad right hand technique

Hey guys, I’ve been playing for about 10 years but first 8 were not really consistent and I was messing around a lot… Never paid attention to right hand technique really, just played what I felt was most comfortable and as a result I developed some bad technique. I feel like I’m not a consistent player, sometimes I can play complex songs because of muscle memory but if I had to play a simple fast run that was new I would struggle, I just never thought about angle of the pick or when to do and upstroke or downstroke and all that good stuff.

Past 2 years I’ve been getting more serious about guitar, started watching video lessons on youtube to relearn how to play properly and decided to start with alternate picking first… The Cracking the Code video with Steve Morse completely blew my mind and I’ve been working on those alternate picked arpeggios for the past few weeks so I also decided to join Cracking the Code and get a critique on my alternate playing first before I start with the pickslanting primer.

I would like to eventually play this passage really fast… It’s still slow now but I’m struggling to play it… Also audio starts loud then gets lower, my iphone mic is messed up sorry.

Also just noticed black pick with black guitar lol, bad move

Thanks

1 Like

I don’t know, this looks pretty good to me. Some of these movements are little more inefficient than you’d like - either stringhopping or just movements with direction changes which are too aggressive and not flat enough. But these things are pretty correctable and you won’t have to re-learn everything you’re doing.