Help a guitar pal out

Hello everyone. Most of the time I’m a silent reader and I occasionally offer some feedback on tommo’s stuff :smile: , but this time around I’m looking to start a general discussion around playing guitar at a high level.

I never wanted to make it big (or believed on doing that), I mean being famous, rich, etc. My life goal musically is to make a guitar oriented record that I’m proud of, even if I’m the only person paying for it.

Lately with enormous academic pressure I left guitar playing a bit behind, I’m just trying not to get any worse to be honest! :smiley:

While I’m studying, I ofter listen to a “shred” playlist I made on Spotify and I’m thinking “wow, this sounds fantastic, with my current discipline and lifestyle I will never play like that”.

Soooo, after all that introduction, I have a question for the “advanced” players around here. Since most of you have day jobs, families, etc, how did you develop your chops at that level? I’ve heard recordings of people here who are at a very high level, but they’re everyday normal guys like me, with many things to do during the day other than practicing. Any advice?

For the record, the song that made me think of all this was this one:

4 Likes

yeah, super cool song and he has a vid online where he breaks it down

Your question.

long story short, its like a war. …if u want to break through to a higher level u need to focus in and break through in ONE spot. Once u “breach the wall” u can then begin to plunder the city

practicing a little bit on a bunch of different things at once is like a bunch of guys throwing rocks at various points of the wall. Not gonna do much TBH. Better to focus all energies on one spot like a battering ram and break through

didnt Bruce Lee say something like “dont fear the guy who practices 10000 different kicks…fear the guy who practices one kick 10000 times”?