Help me fix my picking

Hi. It’s not a “hey look, I can play Yngwie licks” thread in disguise, I promise. I need help with identifying differences between my old and new picking technique. I’ll try to keep my story as short as possible. tldr: what is my hand doin:

I started playing when I was about 12, then after something like 2 years I got into playing Vai, then Malmsteen, then Becker, etc. I never played exercises, my hand was naturally adjusting to stuff I wanted to play. I wasn’t a very patient learner, so my approach was a bit Shawn Lane-ish (playing stuff as fast as you can and then naturally cleaning it up after some time). It’s sort of a mix between alternate, legato and economy and it caused me some serious problems after going out of my shred cave. It’s a bit like this, when I used to play a 3 nps scale descending, I’d use economy picking. Even if there happens to be 4 notes per string somewhere, I’m still able to do this, play g with a downstroke and d with upstroke, for example, then continue the economy picking movement. When playing ascending 3nps scale I’d skip some pickstrokes and replace them with hammerons/pullofs to always switch to a new string with an upstroke. I could play 4nps chromatic exercise when starting on an upstroke, but starting with downstroke I’d have to hammer on the last note of the 4 notes in the first group to hit the new string with an upstroke again. I gathered a few clips, I’m not able to play at the moment, so that’s the best I could do.