Help with Two-Way Slanting

Hey All - I recently figured out that I’ve been picking DSX style for nearly 25 years. For the past month I’ve been practicing two-way slanting to make gains.

While I understand the concept of USX/DSX relative to slanting, I cannot seem to get my escapes to occur on a straight line. Currently my picking looks exactly like DBX in the below image. Your help on my following questions is appreciated.

1. Any tips on achieving a diagonal picking line as opposed to DBX curved?

2. In the above image, Troy’s pick angle looks tilted about 45 degrees, even though I think he calls this 0 degrees. Some people seem to have a flatter trajectory like the next image. Which is correct? When I try to achieve the flatter angle like below, my pick gets hung up more easily.

Screenshot 2023-04-30 at 1.27.48 PM

What gains are you attempting to make? 2 way pickslanting is sort of a deprecated concept. If what you mention here is true:

Then you’ve got everything you need, because your motion can handle upstroke and downstroke escape. That was the “problem” that 2 way pickslanting was trying to solve. DBX gives you this.

You mentioned you have been DSX for 25 years. That means you should already have a diagonal.
Easiest way is to confirm is pick some motion where you can clearly see a rest stroke happening in one direction and a clear escape of the string plane in the other direction. So if you try doing a tremolo on the G string, try making all down strokes hit the B strings and all upstrokes escape. Or try making all your upstrokes hit the D string and your downstrokes escape. Though based on your opening statement, I think you can already do this.