Hey all...newbie here, and could definitely use some tips and advice

Hey guys! So happy to be a part of this forum…thanks in advance for anything you do to help me improve :slight_smile:

So, I’ve been playing nearly 30 years…but almost entirely self-taught.
I don’t say that proudly because what it really means is that I’ve got nearly 30 years of bad habits that I need to unlearn. I’ve been playing hard rock and classic rock primarily…and I’d say my songwriting skills and overall understanding of theory is pretty good.
What I am really struggling with is TECHNIQUE and SPEED!
When I mention ‘speed’ I don’t mean that I wanna be a 240bpm shredder…but I absolutely want to play faster and cleaner.
Due to the fact that I taught myself and typically took the lazy approach to certain techniques, I would say that my best technique is my legato picking.
I can play quite nice and fast with a legato style…but I can’t pick individual notes for the life of me!

I’ve spent the last couple of days looking over the CTC site and I’m not totally sold on the fact that we need to have such a deep dive into all the little weird details about picks and angles. I only say this because I know so many amazing players who do not apply any of the stuff what I’ve seen here on CTC.
However with that said, I’ve tried to play like those other guys and I just can’t get there for some reason…so I figured I would see what the CTC program is all about. I’ve also see a lot of people in this forum achieve some pretty great things so there must be something to it that I’m just not picking up on yet.

In any case, I would love to hear from everyone how they recommend I approach the lessons on this website. Where would be the best place for me to start? What sort of licks, techniques, songs, etc…should I start practicing?
How do you guys recommend the best way is to practice this stuff…metronome, repetition, etc?