Hey everyone! New guy says hi

Hello there, CtC community. My name is Anthony, and I live in Baltimore with my wife and dog. I’ve been playing for nearly 35 years now, yet never spent much time thinking about mechanics.

Troy I saw your videos on YouTube a few years ago, and they were (and are) fantastic. It’s especially funny to me because we’re similar age, I believe, and you had some moments in those videos that were spot-on from my youth.

Those vids started me messing around with DWPS, but never seriously. I decided it was time to jump off that cliff, and see where I land.

While I never thought much about mechanics, I can say that my body certainly did. I unconsciously figured out ways to play things smoother and faster. I always thought I was “cheating”. My first guitar teacher had us running the pentatonic scale in 4 note and 3 note patterns, and my hand naturally went to sweeping certain string changes. He noticed it, and stopped me from doing it (sadly). For years I struggled with strict alternate picking, and finally I just kind of gave up and went with my own bastardized version that included little sweeps and other tricks to play faster. Never was much of a speed demon though.

I’ve also felt my hand unconsciously try to do two-way pick slanting when learning certain phrases. It’s like way down in my brain, some circuit of neurons knew what I was trying to do, and I’d feel my hand naturally shift to these different positions. Of course, because I thought that was “wrong” I shut that down on the spot, and went back to practicing the “right way”.

Oh well. Better late than never, right? Because I’ve been playing for so long, and have this built-in string hopping motion, it’s going to take some time to get comfortable with the pick slanting. One day DWPS feels right, and the next UWPS feels right. I wish my right hand would make up its mind. :slight_smile: