Hi all! New member - picking guitar back up after a break

Hi all! I’m excited to join this community. (LONG POST)

Currently living in the UK but moving countries soon (“on hold” due to Covid… yikes).

By sheer chance, I came across the “cracking the code” series and binged on it for a while thinking it was all fun and because of the great production value. Along the way I realised there were a thousand nuggets of knowledge I could immediately benefit from, it was a bright spot in a murk of knowledge, technique, etc. you can find on the internet (the interweb, as my grandma called it).

A bit about my journey, I started playing guitar around 14 years ago when I was 16, both classical and electric soon after. I went to a community music school for two years and learnt the basics from good teachers and some musical theory that, in retrospect, has stood me in good stead. All this was classical guitar, I never had any education on electric guitar but was able to transfer a lot of skills and lessons.

Went to uni, went through different bands, played gigs, had a lot of fun and became a decent player considering the time I’d been playing (did rock, blues-rock, pop-rock, metal, etc.).

Unfortunately, this doesn’t end well.

After a very acrimonious break-up with a band I’d invested a lot of time and energy in, which I can consider scarring from a personal standpoint, I stopped playing as much and guitar playing drifted into the background of my life. I was 22ish and stopped playing in bands and practice became a one-every-two-weeks thing… until it didn’t. I was busy doing other things and got caught up in social life in my latter years in uni, plus, I moved countries and… well, no excuses but it just happened.

Today, 8 years later, I’ve picked it up again (3 months ago).

I’ve made peace with the break and can’t go back on it. It is what it is. I’m easing myself back into guitar playing and want to do it right to enjoy the music and experience.