How Can I Sound More like a Classical Violinist on Guitar?

I’ve recently been learning the Melodic Minor scale and thought it sounded somewhat reminiscent of classical violin, it’s inspired me to really look into how they approach the instrument!

I’ve started analysing some of Paganini’s works and have already gotten so many fresh ideas e.g. ascending arpeggios and descending with scales, chromatic scales, pedal tones etc.

Does anyone have any more suggestions on some things classical violin players tend to do?

On a side note, do you think the octave trills in this piece are possible on guitar or am I gonna give myself tendentious? I’ve never heard anyone do anything like it on guitar before :smiley:

I think their vibrato is worth studying. They do it differently than most electric guitarists do. It’s not going to be as wide of a vibrato since we have frets. It’s still a cool option to have.

Ha! That’s pretty cool! Just trying that quickly (I’m not good at it at all since it requires decent ring/pinky coordination which i SSSUUCCCKKK at), but I think you could do it. Particularly if it’s between the A/G strings and the interval of the trill of a minor second. You could always get creative do one of the notes with the fret hand, and use your picking hand to tap the other.

Not something I’ve ever thought about, I’ll give it a deeper look!

So cool! Heard it before but never realised what they were actually doing! Yeah the minor second seems do-able, not sure about the major second but again it sounds so cool I’m gonna have to give it a try :grin:

1 Like

They have an amazing instructional pipeline like the pianists do, so grab some of their music and have fun!

:stuck_out_tongue:

this guy made a tutorial on making your own :sweat_smile: