How I went from failing dwps to succeding upws(+Guide)

I have watched a lot of Troys videos previously and although I understood the concept I was constantly failing to achieve a working dpws. It felt tight and uncontrolable. Then I have stumbled upon a live stream which showed how to achieve picking motions. Still got no clue about dwps but gave upws ps a go. I started with a YJM 6 note pattern on the 2 string starting on a downstroke and was progressing through the bpm increases constantly. Then I started practising Paul Gilbert and Vinnie Moore style of lick where you start with 3 notes on the string and then progress playing this 3 note per string pattern 2 times on each string. It was pretty easy although I struggled with getting the timing on string changes right. Still trying to get my dwps working i started playing even note per string patterns starting on the upstroke and it felt easy. Now I am learning to use exclusively upws and then I wll try to get 2wps going.
So here is my advice for the ones like me who struggle with dwps.

1. Watch the broadcast which shows the andy wood/paul gilbert style of placing the hand
    Firslty practise the 6 note pattern starting on the downstroke on a single string and try to achieve correct upws.
    U should probably avoid starting it with the upstroke because switching from playing a downstroke on the beat to upws can feel a little tricky if you do it for the first time.
    E|--------------------
    B|–8--5–7--8–7--5
    G|--------------------
    D|--------------------
    A|--------------------
    E|--------------------

2. Start practicing the paul gilbert style run with upws and listeng carefuly to get the timing and tone constant.
    After getting comfortable with that move to the next step
    E|–8--7–5-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    B|-----------8–7--5–8--7–5-----------------------------------------------------------------