Initial critique of picking technique

I apologize in advance but I didn’t measure my bpm or anything like that. I’ve gone through the introductory material (phew it’s a lot of new terminology to take in)I just want to get an critique on my alternative picking technique. I the video posted below show me playing an Ionian Shape in the key of C ascending and descending. I’ve been picking this way on and off for the past 6 years. Some days it’s good, some days it feels sloppy, unnatural and a lot of scratchiness/clicking from the plastic of the pick hitting the string. I know some people say a lot of this is having too high of a treble or too much gain. I’m 35 and have been playing since I was 15. Played off and on, took some lessons, played in a couple crappy bands and had fun. Never tried to get better, just thought that I wasn’t cut from the same cloth as these guys that can really wail on the guitar. I was taking lessons since March but my teacher moved away. She was having me focus on directional picking and sweep picking which that is another video for another day. One issue with my picking hand is that I get a lot of hopping and I really want to try to eliminate that and find the best movement for me.

Slow Speed

Real Time

Thanks all!

2 Likes

I can confidently say that part is a lie lol. Im 51 and made my best gains after age 47 lol. That was after 27 years of grooving bad habits. There is hope yet lol

Hmmm. Im looking at your clip. Im guessing maybe you are a bit confused about the whole concept or approach.

for instance you are going D U D (down up down) then you are picking the pick way up in the air (hopping)…but then you go DUD on the next string too! Then you repeat it for the next string etc etc.