Introducing CtC concepts to new players

Hi all,

I have a question to the CtC team as well as to the teachers in this forum. Before going further, I would like to point out that I am not a guitar teacher. I have made a lot of improvements thanks to CtC but I still have a lot of mechanical problems to solve in my playing. Which means you probably shouldn’t listen to me if I give you advice on your playing :smiley:

I am regularly joining jam sessions with guitarists of different levels. Some of them play only with their fingers, others have been using the pick for a long time but know nothing about the CtC stuff, others are complete beginners.

During warmup, I usually play some of my favorite 2WPS exercises, DWPS or UWPS exercices. This attracted the attention of some of my fellow players. But I have always had some doubts about introducing CtC material to those who never used the pick or to new players.

And here I ask for your guidance. I have always thought that we should give the player first the chance to intuitively solve these mechanical problems. I am thinking that introducing the CtC concepts from the beginning could limit him musically.

So what do you guys think? Will the CtC findings give new players (or new pickers) a head start? Or will it limit their potential you know, if they were meant to become of the greats who figured out the challenges intuitively?

Thanks! \m/

2 Likes

If i’m teaching someone who has no experience on the guitar whatsoever, I show the student a DWPS position and start from the there. As the lines they learn get more intricate I then introduce the idea of 2WPS and eventually cross picking. My philosophy here is that technique should be an enabling factor and in an ideal world if we could teach a person perfect technique from the start, that will allow them to play anything they want without hitting the inevitable brick wall that is string hopping (or any other less then ideal picking technique).