Is it possible to play this whole run with just upward pick-slanting?

Hi all! So I’m brand new to the world of CtC. I’ve watched some YouTube videos from Troy and others, and I’ve been trying to implement what I’ve seen. I’ve found that upward pick-slanting feels very natural to me, much more than downward pick-slanting does. I know it’s important to learn both and to be able to switch between them, but I’d really like to make some progress with upward pick-slanting to be able to build a stronger foundation and some confidence that this change in technique is worth the effort first. My main focus right now is this D major run I wrote in a solo some months ago. It seems to me as if I would have to switch between upward and downward pick-slanting to play it all – except for the last half or so, which I can do efficiently with just upward pick-slanting. Am I wrong? Is it possible to play it all just upward pick-slanting? I’m fine revising the note positions to make it work, if that makes a difference.

I wouldn’t focus too much on trying to get both “slants” right. Just Refining the one that works best for you might give you the best return of investment for your practice time.

About that run, there are some string changes that might require to perform sporadic “slant changes” a la Vinnie Moore or my preferred method of adding a hammer on or pull off here and there to keep the escape of the picked notes consistent. Purists might consider this cheating but if Yngwie can get away with it, you and I should be fine too :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:.

I am not familiar with that run but I would arrange it like this with a downstroke escape (which I suppose is the upward pick slant you are referring to):

1 Like