Isn't it difficult to slow down your picking?

I’m still learning USX motion. I can do it at 150 bpm 16th note but isn’t it difficult to slow down, with the same motion, with no string hopping motion? It will be good to pick notes at any speed with same motion, but it seems difficult to do for me.

1 Like

BTW I’m trying to use forearm motion, like gypsy style.
By “slow” I mean like slower than 100 bpm 16th notes at most, or slower.

Can you walk by doing the exact same thing as running, but slower?

This has been touched on in the forum - I think it’s fair to discuss.

I feel that I do use the same, or at least very very close to the same motion when playing slow, however it didn’t happen for me until I learned to develop my helper motion. Earlier in my development., I had a strictly single escape motion (which dictated the phrases I used) and could feel a bit on my old string-hopping movements when playing ‘slow’ (lets define as per this discussion - 16ths at 100bpm)…which was fine as it worked at that speed. So I don’t feel I could use the same motion(s) slowly at that time.

Once I developed a helper motion - I started to slowly back away from any feeling of string hopping even at slow speed and now I don’t really feel it.

I think at a point you can use the same motion…or perhaps ‘motions’ but it will likely take having a working helper motion since at slower speeds you can play ‘anything at any time’ compared to faster speeds where there tends to be less control in terms of choosing ‘any note at any time’.