Jake Eddy, here. (Becky Buller Band)

Hey all! I’ve been speaking with Troy recently, and we thought it would be a good idea for me to introduce myself here. I’m a bluegrass guitarist from West Virginia. I currently tour full-time with the Becky Buller band from Nashville, TN! My recent solo release features some of my greatest heros and friends in the flatpicking biz including Bryan Sutton, Kenny Smith, & more! It peaked at #4 on Airplay Direct and #14 on the FAI Folk chart.

I’m looking forward to being apart of this group and hope to share some insight into my playing style for those who are interested.

Here’s a link to my recent release

11 Likes

Welcome @TheJakeEddy! Killer playing!

Sounds like we could all learn a thing or two from you — looking forward to your contributions to the forum :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome and congrats on the new release - love the playing, very tasty all round!

1 Like

Welcome @TheJakeEddy! That is a fantastic rendition of Black Mountain Rag. Can’t wait to listen to the rest of the record!

1 Like

Great playing, Jake! Welcome to the forum! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Great playing Jake !
I hope we can learn about how you achieve some of that impressive fast picking in the future.

1 Like

Welcome @TheJakeEddy

We’ll learn all this soon enough, but do you have a high level idea of your technique? For example do you switch strings after down strokes as well as upstrokes? Or do your licks target one escape vs the other? Do you use any economy picking? etc.

Looking forward to learning more about how you do what you do.

2 Likes

Hey Jake! Thanks for stopping by. You seem to have kicked up some interest around these parts. Nice work on Black Mountain Rag. Are you playing that one live with the band, or other repertoire?