Jimmy Page Lick

Hi,

I have been trying to play this Jimmy Page Lick for years now. Can someone please tell me why my motion doesn’t work. I have 4 videos to share. My fast wrist motion feels smooth (Video 3) but tremolo on 1 string is trapped. Been trying forearm rotation (Video 4) for a few months, feels terrible, not smooth at all, very jerky and sticky.

Clip 1 - 2WPS Jimmy Page Lick Normal Speed

Clip 2 - 2WPS lick slow motion

Clip 3 - Fast smooth motion - Doesn’t escape though.

Clip 4 - Forearm Rotation - Ping Pong 6s - Not Smooth

Thanks

Hey!
Alternate picking that lick is not so easy and might take some time even if you practice according to ctc ideas. Why dont you use legato in The meantime? It will sound great!

1 Like

Hi! :wave:
I’ll try to give some feedback on each of the videos, although I’m no expert, so you have to wait for a response from someone else for that! :wink:

Starting with video 4, are you trying to do solely forearm rotation or a compound movement with the wrist? According to the Pickslanting Primer, it seems that forearm rotation in isolation works best with the picking hand and arm in an Eddie or Gypsy style of playing. As your wrist is in a more extended position (closer to the bridge) I suspect you’re aiming for a combination of wrist and forearm movement. I think – which often is suggested here on the forum – trying to find the motion on a single string first at a relatively high speed is beneficial before trying string switching examples. Are you able to do that yet with this type of motion? To me, it looks like the USX motion you’re trying to achieve escapes correctly, but you’re amplifying the string escape a bit when changing strings, i.e., the pick escapes farther, which might be something to consider, as the escape should happen from the motion itself as far as I know.