Just another chick with a pick

Hi,

I’m from Colorado, been playing guitar for 1.5 years. Took piano lessons in my misspent youth and still play a bit. I’ve been in guitar lessons since I started playing it and have been playing in an adult music school band for almost a year now. I like 90’s alt, grunge, old punk, and if anyone remembers New Wave :slight_smile: I like it, too. But in band we mostly play funk/blues/older rock songs. I play rhythm guitar and also do some solos or fill, and on some songs play hand percussion, keyboard, chromatic percussion (vibes) or sing. Our band currently has 26 (!) songs I am struggling to master.

I play a lot of scales (natural and pentatonic) and found my way here while trying to get faster for some of my lead parts. I’m still pretty slow at 16ths (100-ish on the metronome) but starting to see the things I can really improve with a little work.

Paid for my membership today and getting started on the videos.

Cheers!

5 Likes

Hello fellow mountain person! I try to venture into Colorado frequently, as it’s got amazing outdoors (but so does Utah). Definitely going to Denver for a show in March with my wife, lol.

1 Like

Welcome @Whizbang_Yardbird !

Sounds like you are in a really cool band :slight_smile:

Let us know if there’s anything we can help with!

1 Like

Glad to have “another chick with a pick” here. Not a lotta those! Welcome!

1 Like

:slight_smile: Thanks @Pepepicks66 , I try to venture to Utah in the Fall and Spring when I can!

@tommo, thanks! I feel like I can get my pick moving pretty fast on one string (140 bpm or so 1/16ths) but if I am working on fast licks, it seems like for a while my picking is too slow, then as it catches up, eventually the fretting is where I’m stumbling & have to get more smooth and efficient to get to the next step.