Just can't figure out upstroke escape

Hi all,

First, thanks for reading. Hope everyone is healthy and safe.

I’ve been playing guitar for about 20 years. I was never a great picker. About a year and a half ago, I found Troy Grady and dug in. I tried downward pick slanting (as it was called then) and couldn’t figure it out. I realized I was a natural upward pickslanter and focused on that. At this point, I feel I can execute the movement competently and can do the things I want with it.

I still cannot seem to do an upstroke escape. I feel like I understand intellectually what I’m trying to do, and I feel like I’ve tried every conceivable wrist and elbow motion. I’ve also tried not trying, and that hasn’t worked either.

Here’s a video demonstrating my standard downstroke escape technique at low volume on an acoustic:

This video shows my attempt at upstroke escape.

I begin the video with downstroke escape, to show my attempts at adjustment. When trying upstroke escape, the biggest issue, as you’ll see, is that I cannot seem to get a proper attack on string shifts; the sound is muted and flat. I seem to only be able to do downstroke escape string shifts by hitting the string at an angle, which impacts the sound. I also seem to be better able to execute upstroke escape string changes while ascending strings; this same was originally true for my downstroke escape motion, though I can now both ascend and descend with relative ease using that movement pattern.

I would love any advice, anything at all, I really am at the end of my rope here. I’m not even really sure what to try at this point.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Hey @AndrewB thanks for posting and welcome back!

Your downstroke escape (DSX) seems solid (judging by sound and the fact that it looks pretty effortless and repeatable), while for the upstroke escape (USX) it’s a bit difficult to see what may be going on from this camera angle.