Just started practicing for speed

I never really practiced scales or to develop shred style speed. But Ive gone through stints of giving it a go. I always felt that it was my fretting hand that was the problem, but Im realising more and more its inefficient picking that is really slowing things down.

So Im trying to speed that up with the use of DWPS and upward escape. Uhmm yeah so Im just curious if it looks like im starting out right. I dont want to put thousands of more hours into another stupid way of doing things. Hahaha.

Ohh uhh some background on where Im at: so I just started seriously working on scales and speed. Ive got minor pentatonic, blues and harmonic minor at a basic level of memorization, just working on really embedding those scales into my brain so I can play them everywhere on the neck at will… but as far as mechanical technique goes Im just starting to learn about pickslanting and trying some 6’s up and down the strings and up and down the neck.

The video is down and up the strings. This technique already feels way smoother than what i was doing. The instant I heard about that string hopping (i think thats what its called), i realized that i was doing that terribly. and my wrist would hurt… it was bad news bears.

So yeah lemme know if im on the right track. Thanks.

1 Like

There is nothing “wrong” here - but you are not doing strictly USX (upstroke escape) as far as I can see. It looks more like “downstroke escape with occasional rotation into USX to do the string change”.

I think if you try some licks that only change strings after downstrokes you’ll be blazing pretty soon!

1 Like

Yeah okay I felt like I always turned back towards downstroke escape naturally. i think its cus im used to like planting my palm near the thumb to a certain degree… cool thanks for the tip ill give that a try. :slight_smile:

1 Like