Larry Corban saying hello to everybody!

Hello everybody on the Forum,

My name is Larry Corban. I’ve been playing since I was 9 years old, got into practicing guitar seriously at 15 upon discovering Eddie Van Halen, Yngwie Malmsteen, John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola, and Allan Holdsworth but everything they played always felt technically out of my reach. I started to get into playing straight-ahead jazz because it was “technically easier to play.” I found players like Wes Montgomery, Pat Metheny, Jim Hall, and Grant Green much easier to transcribe. I realized that they were using other mechanisms besides technique to tell their stories to create the drama of engagement that makes for a great listening experience: Wes’ use of chords and octaves to make solos interesting rhythmically where he’s displacing the one of the measure by setting up a hemiola with the rhythm section along with endless melodic invention, Jim Halls’ ability to twist the harmony by sideslipping in and out of the chord changes is like listening to a Piccasso painting in motion, Pat Metheny’s soaring melodic invention is stark in it’s simplicity especially in the early years of his career, and Grant Green’s pocket is so swingin’. I had found ways to get around my lack of shredding technique. As I got better at playing straight-ahead jazz, Pat Martino and George Benson than later John Scofield, MIke Stern, and Wayne Krantz were really the guys I used as guide posts musically!

Fast forward a couple of decades or so…A musical director at a Broadway show that I was subbing on had a complete meltdown on me! I was ready to throw in the towel. Done! I asked myself the question: Is there anything left on the guitar before I quit that I still want to learn? The answer came back as learn the first five Van Halen records and Yngwie J Malmsteen’s Rising Force note-for-note!