Lefty plays righty: thoughts and insights

First-time poster.

I’ve made my living as a session and touring player my whole life, always making more out of good tone, legato styles, musicality and taste than any kind of blazing right-hand technique. But I want to get a few more things together.

I started playing on a right-handed guitar at 6 and stuck with that, but went on a few technical journeys over the years. Had a lot of private and University instruction where well-meaning instructors tried to change my technique (I defaulted to no edge picking at first, then a rather extreme Benson style with massive edge picking–pick almost vertical–then what TG calls “angle pad grip” with DWPS, USX and still quite a bit of edge picking). The latter describes where I’m at right now, but I battle a tendency toward excess tension when playing faster passages.

Working through some of the exercises/tests (knocking on table, scribble, and scratch-off motions) my speed is on the more moderate side relative to what TG was doing in the example videos, and it leads me to a question:

Could some of this be due to handedness, and are the knocking/scribbling/scratch-off motions something worth practicing? I’ve been working on my tremolo in recent weeks (never a strong point) and have gotten it to (sixteenth notes at) ~160 BPM, which still feels on the more “moderate” side of things (and doesn’t quite feel as effortless as it seems it should).

Curious if any other lefty-plays-righty players have thoughts or experience to share. Cheers!

1 Like