Magnet crosspick critique

Hi Forum

I finally had a moment to try my magnet on some dbx. Since the new addition in the primer (reverse dart thrower) I’ve tried to incorporate that form as my base.

One clip is part of a song, the other clip is an arpeggio.

Are the clips ok? This is my first time using the magnet.

It’s hard to tell because the speed is pretty far below what you’d need for DBX/crosspicking. It looks pretty flat to me and not ‘bouncy’, but the true test is to see if this works at 16ths @ 120 as a starting point.

Troy has told me that even 140 bpm is too slow. I just know personally I cannot sustain string hopping at 120, so I knew I found a decent motion when I could play long-ish phrases at that speed. Once I got comfortable, yes, that same motion is capable of speeds above 140. Also, anecdotal, I found out that I was using a few different motions of DBX and I instantly got a boost by using the Morse 3-finger grip. In terms of how I executed the motion, it didn’t really feel any different to me, but the comfort, speed and endurance all went up so I knew right away that whatever I was doing before was less efficient.

And this could very well have been Troy’s intent telling me I should be aiming for the higher speed. The correct motion should be capable of some pretty fast playing. It’s not a matter of working up to it, it’s about finding the correct motion, and that should be fast from the beginning.

2 Likes

Ok, I guess I’ll have to floor it then :racing_car:

May i ask what you played to test your motion? Did you do 1 note per string arpeggios or mixed notes per string? Did you do tremolo one on string?

I will try the 3 finger grip, just for fun. Do you still use that or did you learn the motions you needed and then returned to your original grip?