Masters in Mechanics - recommendations for where to start?

I’ve been wanting to try the masters in mechanics membership. I’ve decided to get my feet wet with a one month trial.
Can anyone recommend where I should start?
I’ve basically watched damn near everything Troy has put out on YouTube. And I believe I understand the basics of most of the techniques discussed on YouTube. I probably have the least knowledge/experience with crosspicking. But I feel like right now, digging deeper into the pickslanting technique may yield faster results since I’ve been doing it for a couple of months now.
Any help is appreciated!!

2 Likes

If you don’t already have a pickslanting preference The Pickslanting Primer goes into a lot more detail on the various pickslanting mechanics. The three seminars all give great examples of each type of pickslanting using famous players.
If you already have a preferred picking motion you can just start watching the stuff related to that in order to get ideas on refining your technique.
Personally, I like to watch everything because you tend to pick up insights from every player.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply!
I’m not 100% sure but I think I’m a natural uwps. However I do find myself using both slant techniques. When I watched the interview with MAB, I felt I most easily related to what he does. I don’t so much make a “bridge” like he does but I definitely anchor similarly and his string switching technique feels most natural to me.
Straight dwps like Yngwie and EJ tend to feel always in certain situations.
I’ll be sure to check out as many clips as possible!!

2 Likes

Currently this live broadcast we did for subscribers is a great place to start — nice hands-on intro to different picking motions:

https://troygrady.com/channels/talking-the-code/introduction-to-picking-motion/

Definitely also recommend watching through the Pickslanting Primer.

https://troygrady.com/primer/