Mechanics of sweeping

Hey all!

This is my first time posting in the forum. I’d just like to express how amazingly helpful CtC, Troy and everyone on the forum has been for me. Thanks everyone!

I’ve been thinking more about the mechanics of sweeping as I think this technique has its own mechanical nuances as just like alt. picking. Is there a possibility of a deeper exploration into sweeping technique?

I have been working on my economy picking and on sweeping techniques in general for about 18 months and I have incorporated this into my playing - to a limited extent. It is quite inconsistent for me. Sometimes I slip out of time or I lose the fluidity at higher speeds, especially with small sweeps (economy picking). There is also the problem of strong beat accents. I cannot get enough control to vary my accents on different notes in a swept phrase, or swing notes effectively.

No doubt many of the mechanical movements are the same or similar, but it does not help me to think of simply pushing with a slant through the strings, and many players I admire seem to have different things going on. Tony Rice, Adam Rogers are two that come to mind.

I have started using crosspicking instead, but there are some things which just need to be swept.

Any thoughts?

1 Like

There really isn’t one answer to this, because just about every joint in your arm can be used for this, from your shoulder to your fingers! So you’re right that’s a cool and complicated topic. I would suggest that it might depend on the kind of line you’re playing.

For example, the big, straight-line, five- and six-string arpeggio type line can be done with “whole arm” type movements that we talk about in our 2017 live interview with Michael Angelo Batio.

For smaller distances, you can check out our Teemu Mantysaari Interview, where we discuss sweeping a fair amount. He has a lot of good ideas not just for cool lines to play, but also practice tips for getting the hands working separately and then together.