Mike Stern's Go To Scales

Hi Everyone,

I’m interested in finding out what kind of scales Mike Stern uses when he blows. I know peppers pentatonic and blues here and there and I saw him teach a half whole symmetrical diminished lick over dom.7th chords in a video series for Guitar World, but other than that I’m pretty much lost when it comes to incorporating his style into my playing. I’m new to CTC, so if this has already been duscussed please point the way.

Regards and Thanks,
David Hoskins

1 Like

I’m far from a Stern nerd but I’ve watched his CTC material and have a few records he’s played on. Incredible player. Aside from what you mentioned in your first post I get the sense that he might think more in terms of chords with added chromatic passing tones than straight scales much of the time. And sometimes I feel that sometimes (especially on his “outside” playing) his note choices are secondary to a rhythmic idea that he’s trying to get across.

As a side note, have you seen Troy’s YouTube lesson on the “Fat Time” arpeggios? Once I went through the lesson I started hearing that lick all over Stern’s stuff. It’s everywhere, from Miles Davis to live with Billy Cobham and even into his 2010’s-era solo stuff. It sounds totally badass every time!

3 Likes

“Playing the changes” is very much the norm for jazz. (And really any style where it makes sense to talk about the music as a chord progression.)

3 Likes

I agree with the others, most Jazz Musicians think of following the changes. I know Stern has a huge Bebop vocabulary- they commonly use Arpeggios.
I would learn some basic shapes for Major 7, Dominant 7, Minor 7, and Half Diminished 7. Start connecting the different arpeggios through the changes in various directions. Both ascending, both descending, ascending then Descending, descending then ascending.
Then start to add in some chromaticsm by approaching these chord tones from either a half step below or a half step above.