Moving from 10s to 9s, what are the main issues?

So, after playing 10s for ages I am getting a bit lazy and would like to move to 9s.

Main reason: after discovering CtC I started practicing quite a lot, and my left hand can get quite tired after a couple of hours on `hard strings’.

Is anything horrible going to happen in terms of guitar setup? Or can I get away with perhaps rasining the action a tiny bit via the bridge thingies? My guitars are a Fender Strat and a Chapman ML1.

I have a Strat type guitar made by Carvin. Personally, I didn’t do anything when I tried 9s (I usually play 10s as well). But again, I don’t care about much as long as nothing is horribly wrong.

I have read that people usually check the intonation when changing string gauges.
I can’t confidently comment anything else.

1 Like

I’m the same. I think it means we’re very rock&roll :sunglasses:

Rather than raising the bridge saddles I’d usually just tighten the truss rod a -tiny- bit, that will increase the relief in the neck which will typically reduce a little when going to lighter strings since they are exerting less force on the neck.

2 Likes

One big thing is that if you have a floating bridge, you’ll need to adjust the springs in the rear cavity (by turning the anchor screws counterclockwise some amount) in order to reduce the spring tension and get the baseplate of the bridge at the height you want.

Check out the very cool Strat setup series in the playlist below:

1 Like