Muscle restoration

Woah it’s been years since I’ve been here, anyway lemme get straight to business. I started practicing like crazy and man I hurt. I know it’s incorrect technique coz I managed to get some pretty impressive results with my legato playing BUT my picking hand is slowly killing me and I kinda can’t practice to avoid hurting it even more. It’s obviously because my picking is tensed shit but I wanna ask for any advices that u have to speed up muscle/joint restoration. I’m tryna go full on Gilbert but I just can’t practise as much as I want. I’ll appreciate any advices on speeding up the recovery process. I’m already trying to limit my training sessions to an hour with a half hour break but I still feel the fatigue building up over time even in me left hand.

Take at least a week off… seriously. Re-read what you posted - can’t you see that it is your practicing that has to change - not your restoration. You can only shorten restoration time by not injuring yourself in the first place.

You simply can’t go full gilbert mode with crazy tension. Its counter productive and is making you play less and less.

1 Like

I’m with PickingApprentice. It’s not about recovery time, there seems to be something fundamentally wrong with how you’re playing the instrument, mechanically speaking.

Try purposefully focussing on being as relaxed as possible as you play. There may be some tension in your neck, shoulders, arms or wrists that you’re not even aware of.

Best of luck!

I think I didn’t explain myself clear nuff. I call it tensed shit with pretty high standards in mind and my shoulders and forearm are soft as titties. I was talking bout actual fatigue in my thumb muscle from doing picking a lot. So yeah I’m still looking for some advices on speeding up the recovery time.