Musician diet and exercise discussion

A good diet and exercise is important to anything athletic, and playing music is part of that.

Does anyone have any good suggestions that are properly studied about a good diet and proper exercise, and resting for musicians in general.

I see of a lot of stuff about going vegan and non-scientific nonsense from naturopathic “medicine” which I have no faith in. I have some experience with proper nutritionists and doctors but they don’t seem to have a real handle on it either and just want to push vitamins and pills that have been proven not to get absorbed by the body unless you need them.

I myself have food allergies, so I can’t just “go vegan” as that kind of diet would be detrimental to my health. However I have cut out red meat almost entirely, eat fish in moderation (don’t want too much mercury in my system) and I try to eat plenty of fiber in the form of beans to keep my cholesterol under control while getting a good amount of protein.

I try to get some aerobic exercise as well which keep the blood flowing but doesn’t build muscle which I’m not interested in, just staying in shape.

I’d be interested to hear about any studies anyone knows, or what your routine and diets are. What are your experiences with supplements and changes in diet and exercise. How much do you rest, do you not play for a few day to let things rest, and any other discussion about general health and maintenance.

Lost of musicians have burned the candle at both ends through the years (myself included) because that’s just how it was in the 80s and 90s. I think it would be a valuable thing to discuss here, to help others recover and get in better health and live longer, so we don’t end up like some of our heroes and leaving this earth before our time.

2 Likes