Muting. Playing with high gain

So recently I’ve had a few chances at uni to really turn the Amp up and gain. Normally I’d never do this as I’d get kicked out the house. But at uni and in some gig situations, you can Really crank it up.

My issue is, soloing becomes insanely hard, every little move gets amplified, even just putting your palm on the bridge becomes a semi screeching crunch. And pulling off any solo seems like a magnifying glass Hass been zoomed in on your hand.

In your experience, how have you overcome this? Do you have any tips for getting over that feeling that every move you make comes across as a total noob on guitar dispite near a decade of playing?

1 Like

I have tried gating, but I hate the notes getting cut off. It must be just serious muting technique. Yet Marty Freidman for example has very little, yet his guitar is not ringing incessantly. I know Troy made a vid about the main note drowning out the minor vibrations of the guitar, but In my experience… I’m not acually seeing that happen. Perhaps I’m missing something?

I should add one more thing, the guitar is plugged right into the amp, and turned up almost to 10 (not 11) Every little move is right there, and it just seems wrong… I don’t see how anyone can play intricate stuff like this…

I think I need more experience playing on such a loud and high gain setting. But even still, it seems like I’m doing something wrong, as the slightest brush will set a string buzzing loud. And ofcourse with six strings, thats a lot of strings to set off. I’m not a beginner, but in terms of metal type guitar I am, as said I rarely get a chance to turn it up to max levels. I have a hard time believing anyones actually playing like that, Eddy said he did… I don’t believe him, I think I’d recognize the sound of his pick and palm hitting the strings much more if that were true, there must be some tech, or technique I’m missing, or am I wrong?

1 Like