My Attempt At Far Beyond The Sun - Following Troys Courses

Hi All,

I am still relatively new to the forum but have been studying CtC and particularly the Yngwie and EJ seminars for the past ~6 months.

I’ve been playing guitar for about 15 years but didn’t progress too much for the past 5 years, however during COVID i decided to dedicate myself to my picking technique and the frustrations and challenges which caused me to put the guitar down for quite a while after the rookie gains started to run out.

By no means is this perfect but a huge thank-you to Troy and the team for the seminars who i give a lot of the credit to for me being able to breakthrough that wall and make leaps and bounds improvement in my technique. Of course, as a guitarist i am never satisfied and always want to improve but just wanted to share my progress after 6 months of consistent studying and practice. Feel free to check out some of my other covers too to see the technique improvement, however Far Beyond the Sun is a different beast which i am proud to say i can play.

In terms of the technique i am pretty much fully committed to the USX/DWPS approach with a wrist motion mechanic and mastering that. I find it natural and comfortable, and although the economy picking/sweeping took me a while to get used to after always alternate picking, the results are far more consistent and i quite enjoy the sound of it.

P.S Its only the first half of the song - will finish the rest of it one day but the first half is definitely my favourite and where i put all my energy thus far.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and feedback :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Cool! Also cool to see how your USX approach looks so different from mine, but essentially are the same in terms of notes picked and pulled off.

1 Like