My attempts at USX and DSX

Video length one minute or less.

How to post a video:

My attempts at USX picking and wrist motion

My attempts at DSX motion

I find moving down the strings easier with USX picking motion.
I’ve been told over and over that arm motion will #1 lead to more inaccurate playing especially when playing fast and switching strings, #2 make you tired faster, #3 can cause damage in elbows and shoulders.
However I when using DSX motion, my elbow very natuarally engages and lets me tremelo at the speeds I would like to be able to.
However, Im a very new guitarist, and have no style yet, and am trying everything. A lot of people in this form and Troy himself seem to use USX and and also a lot of people in this forum talk about how it allows for more articulate playing. So I’ve kind of been trying to force myself to use USX.

• Don’t forget the blank lines!
  • Do NOT use the link button

Your attempts aren’t currently fast enough to determine whether or not your motion is efficient, so I’d whack the metronome up to at least 115bpm and see if you can play sextuplets comfortably for 20-30 seconds-ish on a single string :slight_smile:

Depends what you mean by arm, forearm rotation, wrist/forearm and playing from the elbow are all valid ways to play.

Elbow can be an extremely fast motion but it does tend to be the one I see most beginners/intermediates get wrong. I could do elbow wrong faster than all my other attempts at picking motions a couple of years ago but I would get a weird feeling behind my elbow joint, personally I’m glad I didn’t pursue it any further but I’m still determined to learn the correct super speedy elbow motion one day!