My picking style, help me identify it!

I’ve been playing guitar for 5 years. I’m still not sure about what kind of exact picking am I doing. Btw great site Troy!

1 Like

Wow you are very fast! :scream:

You seem an upward pickslanter to me, since your downstrokes appear to go out of the plane of the strings.

You can easily test this: do you find it easier to change strings after downstrokes? Do you find it difficult when instead you try to change after upstrokes?

I would also work a bit on your left/right hand coordination: it seems that sometimes left and right hand are not in sync. But this is very impressive nevertheless!

1 Like

As @tommo said, quite impressing. Definitely UWPS, me thinks :wink:
I’m not sure about the picking mechanic. Seems like a wrist-deviation/elbow blend to me. Just not sure about the degree. the elbow motion might also be be primarily due to string-tracking.

Any idea how many nps or bpm/16ths you can do?

Tom

2 Likes

I find change for both downstroke and upstroke the same. My coordination might be off in this video, I recorded it in morning before drinking my coffee :smiley:. (also used wrong pick :rofl: )

For Tom0711,

Here’s a old video of me testing my nps ( trying to compete with shawns shredding as you can hear his soloing in background :smiley: ). I don’t wanna brag but some licks I can do fairly on Shawns speed.

1 Like

Interesting! When you get the chance, would you be able to record a lick where all the string changes happen after upstrokes? I’m curios to see how you make it happen from that hand position.

Again very impressive, you are super fast :slight_smile:

1 Like

Holy Sh*t :wink:

Maybe Troy should do an interview with you :wink:

Chapeau.

1 Like

Here’s an attempt of that. Its kinda hard for me when I have to think about it. My hand has a mind of its own for most of time.

2 Likes