Need Analysis on my Downward Pickslanting

Hi all, i’m trying to learn downward pickslanting for a few weeks and really need analysis on my alternate picking technique. The phenomenon pickslanting is completely new to me. So am i doing it right? And what about the other things related with my right hand technique(pick angle-motions etc.). Any analysis would be great. Thank you for your time and answers!

3 Likes

I’m not really an expert (in fact, you’re a better player than I am), but to me it seems like you’re doing it pretty much perfectly. It seems that you’re using ulnar wrist deviation as your primary motion (like the one Troy uses in Bulletproof Wrist Picking with USX Motion video). If you can execute this motion while keeping the picking hand relaxed and without getting tired easily, you’ve got nothing to worry about.

1 Like

Thank you for your kind answer! I really needed to hear this kind of feedback because i feel really stressed while practicing (“am i doing it right”, “am i wasting my time with wrong hand motions” and i couldn’t help myself with these kind of questions). Thank you very much!

1 Like

You’re welcome! Glad to have helped.

1 Like

Picking looks great to me, excellent work!

I can only see it for a split second, but it looks to me like your fretting hand pinky is flying away from the strings pretty excessively. In my book, 160bmp 16ths is plenty fast and at speeds like that, this obviously doesn’t matter. You’re still in control and everything is nice and clean. I think if you get much faster you may notice it’s hard to keep up with larger left hand movements like this.

2 Likes

Thank you for your comment! I didn’t even notice the pinky thing until you warned me… I can play the same lick up to 190-200 bpm (not super clean). Here i made a new video and pinky looks same, may it cause some problems later?

2 Likes