Need help with metal rhythm playing

I’ve been playing as a natural DSX player for as long as I can remember and it’s incredibly impractical for playing heavy metal rhythms, so I’ve been working on my USX method for about three years now, basically ever since I discovered CTC. It’s been incredibly frustrating and I’m almost too embarrassed to ask for help. I’ve been to several high level teachers in my area and none of them have been able to help me solve this exact issue.

I’m trying to develop a wrist/forearm approach similar to old-school Troy, Doug Aldrich, that type of thing. It’s the perfect posture for what I want to accomplish musically and it’s a way better TONE for palm muting.

Herea my best crack at a recent riff from my band. I find these gallops incredibly difficult and I cant never seem to dial it in. Also, I lose strength after a few bars, I’m throwing airballs, pushing against the strings without passing through. Thisnis also true for my normal playing posture–i have a hell of a time just getting the pick THROUGH the strings half the time and I end up flapping around like a fish. I feel like I have to play extremely hard just to hit the notes at all, which leads me to my next problem.

The pinky side of my picking hand gets very tense and I can start to feel numbness behind my elbow in my ulnar nerve. I also have trouble with pick grip. If I hold too tight then it aggravates my arm but if I relax, the pick ends up being choked out in my fingers within a few seconds.

How do you metal guys pull this off?

2 Likes

Can you get your phone a little closer and record in slow motion?

Cool riff!

I can totally relate. I have always been a metal player but because i spent most of my time practicing a (messed up) lead-playing technique, i developed a lot of weird rythm playing habits.

+1. Do this to unleash the full unholy analysis potential of the forum’s sages.