New guy from the Netherlands

Hi there,

New guy from the Netherlands here, I am Peter and very very pleased to be part of the Cracking the Code community. I have been checking out the Youtube videos since August, when on a holiday break. Although I have been playing for about 25 years, I have honestly never improved as much as I have in these couple of months, for which I have Troy to thank. I recognised so much of the stuff Troy told about his journey. I got stuck myself more times than I care to remember and finally been able to progress to a more serious level.

I mostly play the 80’s and early 90’s rock stuff and am finally seeing progress in the Yngwie and Paul Gilbert songs I always wanted to be able to play. On a good day I can manage the Poptarts lick close to 200 bpm (mostly in the 185 - 195 range). I would not have thought this was within my capabilities a year ago and I still have a long way to go.

Favourite guitar is the Fender Stratocaster. At the moment I mostly play my Japanese 57 in Candy Apple Red, with Kluson pickups. Been in and out of bands for most of my guitar life. At the moment I am in a band with my son, playing mostly Jimi, Clapton etc.

Lately I have been taking some lessons, mostly to get the theory down.

One thing I wanted to add. With the progress I made with just the Youtube videos, I had some doubts about getting the Pickslanting Primer for quite a while. Yesterday I finally decided to go for it and I can firmly recommend it. There is so much good material in there; it really is a good deal.

Take care and looking forward to connecting with you guys!

2 Likes

New here too. Living in U.K. and picked guitar up again in lockdown after a break of about six months. Used to play in a rock band but pandemic’s tooken away our gigs for now. Just here to make new friends with an interest in guitar and music in general. How about you? Wilkie

2 Likes