New(ish) Guy from Troy MI

Hello,

Long time player here. Decades. I’m a perhaps average or slightly better comparing myself to guitar players I run into. I was in a gigging bad for a few years before the pandemic. I’m into blues, classic rock through grunge. Enjoy hard-rock, but not so much metal with a couple of exceptions.

Pretty much self taught, but took a lesson here and there in person then more recenly online lessons which I spent a lot of money on with the goal of improving my speed which turned out to be a big waste of time and money other than discovering I was string hopping. Lots of books too including books on technique, which I’ve also worked pretty hard and with very marginal success. So that’s why I’m here.

I’ve watched most of the Primer videos, took the tests and scored ok (200 bpm or less) but I can’t seem to translate similar test result speeds to my guitar. I’ve worked a bit on tremelo, but still feel like I’m not getting anywhere. Only once did I feel like I had a “breakthough moment” when I tremelo picked poorly but fast using a motion very similar to Eddie Van Halen’s type of tremelo but I’m having a hard time reproducting it. I’m stuck at 110 bpm 16ths on a good day.

I feel like I’m stuck and don’t know what to do next to make progress. I’m not sure making a video of myself at this point is going to help. I’ve love some help and/or advice.

–Chuck

Hi and welcome!

You’ve got to try to catch that lightening! Don’t even waste your time with motions that won’t even go past 110 bpm. That’s a clear indicator the motion isn’t efficient. No amount of practicing those same motions is going to make them speed up. It’s hard to think this way, especially those of us who have been playing for decades and have heard countless amazing players advocate to start slowly and then speed up gradually (spoiler alert: it works for them because they already know the correct motion(s) and theirs adapt accordingly at the higher tempos)